EPA members

The Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) has five members: a full-time Chair, a part-time Deputy Chair and three part-time members.


Prof. Matthew Tonts

Chair 18 January 2021 to 17 January 2026

Prof. Tonts has extensive professional experience spanning Western Australia's environmental, regional, higher education and research sectors. Between 2017 and 2020 he was Pro Vice Chancellor and Executive Dean of The University of Western Australia's Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education. Prior to this he was Head of UWA's School of Earth and Environment and Director of the Institute for Regional Development. 
Prof. Tonts is internationally known for his expertise in environmental geography, regional environments, rural communities and spatial planning. He has worked closely with Commonwealth, State and local government, as well as not for profits and the private sector on issues related to regional development, land use assessment, urban development and environmental management. He has also worked on a range of projects in collaboration with partners in Africa, North America, Europe and South East Asia.
Matthew has a Doctor of Philosophy (Geography) from Curtin University and a Bachelor of Arts (Geography & Environmental Management) (first class honours) from Edith Cowan University.  In 2020 he was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia.

Ms Lee McIntosh

Deputy Chair 18 November 2020 to 17 November 2025

Ms McIntosh has more than 20 years’ experience practicing as an environmental lawyer. She has extensive experience in corporate, government and community sectors, been active in several environmental law policy and reform initiatives, lectured and tutored in environmental law and worked across all areas of environmental law assessment and approvals.

Ms McIntosh has also held roles on several government and community boards and provided advice on the environmental approval and social licence issues associated with some of Western Australia’s most significant projects.

Ms McIntosh has a Masters degree in Environmental Law from the University of Calgary, Canada, and a Bachelor of Laws (first class honours) and Bachelor of Science (Environmental Science) from Murdoch University.

Prof. Fiona Haslam McKenzie

Member from 11 October 2019 until 10 October 2024

Prof. Fiona Haslam McKenzie is co-director and senior principal research fellow at The University of Western Australia’s Centre for Regional Development. Her current work examines the socio-economic impact of the Australian staple economies, particularly the resources sector, while her international work is focused on mining activities in Canada, Chile and South Africa and through a Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade teaching program across nine African nations.

She has a diverse academic background, including a PhD in Political Geography from The University of Western Australia (UWA), as well as a Bachelor of Commerce, Bachelor of Arts and Masters of Philosophy from UWA. She has served on several government and private sector boards, including as chief investigator leading the Regional Economies – Enduring Community Value from Mining division of the Remote Economic Participation Co-operative Research Centre and as Director for the Housing and Urban Research Institute Western Australia.

Prof. Haslam McKenzie has extensive experience in population and socio-economic change, mining and the oil and gas industries, housing, regional economic development and the analysis of remote, regional and urban socio-economic indicators.

Mr Glen McLeod

Member from 21 October 2013 until 20 October 2023

Mr McLeod is an environmental and town planning lawyer with more than 40 years of experience. He has held senior positions in major Australian, English and American law firms. In July 2012, he established his independent niche firm, Glen McLeod Legal, where he practises in the areas of environmental and town planning law.

Mr McLeod is a Council member of the International Bar Association’s Section on Energy Environment Resources and Infrastructure and a member of the WA Law Society’s Education, and Environment, Town Planning and Local Government committees.

Mr McLeod is an Adjunct Professor at Murdoch University where he teaches units in environmental and town planning law. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. He was the recipient of the 2016 WA Law Society’s Lawyer of the Year Award. Mr McLeod is the General Editor of the Thomson Reuter national loose-leaf publication Planning Law in Australia and an editor of the Local Government Law Journal

Dr Jenny Pope

Member from 5 November 2018 until 4 November 2023

Dr Jenny Pope has over 30 years’ experience in the fields of environmental management and sustainability, in Western Australia and internationally. Dr Pope commenced her career as an environmental process engineer in the water and the oil and gas industries, before establishing a consultancy business in Perth which she has operated for 20 years. In addition to her consultancy work, Dr Pope currently holds two international academic positions; she is Extra-ordinary Associate Professor in Environmental Management at North-West University in South Africa, and Fellow of the University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership in the UK.

Dr Pope holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical) with first class honours; a Graduate Diploma in Science (Biotechnology); a Post-Graduate Certificate in Policy Studies (Ecologically Sustainable Development), and a PhD in Sustainability and Technology Policy. She is both a practitioner and an internationally-recognised scholar of impact assessment, with a particular focus on sustainability assessment and social impact assessment. She is an active member of the International Association for Impact Assessment and the Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand.